Blackmailed

I was being blackmailed!  This enemy of mine was doing everything in his power to keep me under his control – to make sure I knuckled under to his demands.  His goal was my complete destruction and to take as many people down with me as he could.  My problem was that he had plenty of evidence to use against me.  He would show me my “unsavory” side and then laugh in my face and there was little I could do.  What could I say?  How could I defend myself?  Who would believe me or even attempt to help me get out from under this blistering barrage of evil. 

 I realized that it was working – I started to believe what was being said about me.  I just wanted to run, hide and cry, “Uncle!”  Why bother trying to fight back.  I didn’t have the resources to fight even if I wanted to.  He was winning.  He was beating me into submission.  Just admit defeat and move on or rather slink away.  I had but one appeal left, to the only authority I hoped and prayed could get me out of this mess and set my life back on track.

 And He did!  The evidence was gathered up and destroyed.  My enemy, that slimy snake, slithered away and I was rescued from his unrelenting pounding.  Now I could live my life the way it was intended to be lived.  I could breathe!

 This story is true.  My enemy, Satan, was trying to destroy me and only through Christ could I be freed from his abuse.  You see, I have seen his schemes working in my life.  He loves to torment us with our sin.  He loves to accuse us of infidelity to Christ.  He loves to destroy our hope, our joy, our peace.  He loves to make us feel unworthy and unlovable.  He loves to beat on us until we give up on the hope of our calling and walk away a defeated, barely functional Christian.  Instead of walking out the fullness of the life Christ has for us, we settle for a shadow of the real thing and think ourselves lucky or blessed.

 The only way to get out from under Satan’s thumb is to appeal to Christ and Him crucified.  Listen to what the apostle Paul says in his letter to the Colossians:

You were dead because of your sins and because your sinful nature was not yet cut away. Then God made you alive with Christ. He forgave all our sins. He canceled the record that contained the charges against us. He took it and destroyed it by nailing it to Christ’s cross. In this way, God disarmed the evil rulers and authorities. He shamed them publicly by his victory over them on the cross of Christ.

 All the evidence of sin, all the requirements of law we could never fulfill, all our failings, all our unholiness and imperfections were pounded into that wooden cross where the blood trickled down to expunge the dark ink written on our soul.  “Satan, would you accuse me now?  You have no evidence.  You have no standing.  You have been shown to be a toothless tiger.  Run, I say, run before the splendor of His pierced side and leave me alone!”

Satan tried to take me out, to take me out of the Kingdom fight, to forget my calling.  And I must admit it nearly worked.  But then I go back to the basics – Jesus died for my sins; He died and rose again to declare me “not guilty.”  He did this to cleanse me and free me from domination by Satan.  It sounds so corny sometimes – theses words overused and misused, but it is true and it is the only thing that gives me any hope.  It is the only truth that lets me know I am acceptable to God.  And not just acceptable, but actually accepted and loved.  I am not odious or repulsive to Him! 

 So as I reflect on this great truth and exult in the freedom gained for me, I take up my shield, grasp firmly the sword and plunge again into the battle.

3 responses to “Blackmailed

  1. Thanks for sharing. Yes, Satan is “the accuser of the brethren.” God bless you.

  2. Amen. I like the way you said a shadow. We are that shadow of doubt until we trust Christ that shadow of doubt will follow us and consume us to the very end. But when we trust God it disappears. We are our greatest battle. Not others, once we know who we are then nothing can tear us down.

    Shenine

    • You are so right. It is so very important that Christians embrace the fullness of our life in Christ in order to stand up against the onslaught from the devil, the world and our very own doubt. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

