I can see clearly now

“Presbyopia” the doctor said.  I was devastated.  What would I tell my family?  How would I be able to do my job?  What happens next?  All these thoughts raced through my mind.  I had never heard of Presbyopia before.  Fear swept over me.  “What does that mean?” I finally asked the doctor.  “Oh”, he answered, “It just means that you are getting old and need bifocals.”  I could have killed him!  That’s it! I’m getting old!  Bifocals?  Grrrrrr.  He could have just said that instead of scaring me with the whole “Presbyopia” thing.  Apparently, as we get older the eyes become less flexible and we can’t focus as well.  Things get blurry.  Well, I knew that!  So I got my bifocals – lined bifocals, none of that progressive stuff- and I could see much better.

Here’s the thing.  It isn’t just our physical eyes that get blurry over time, so do our spiritual eyes.  Paul prays for the church in Ephesus by saying,  “I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling…” What a great expression – “the eyes of your heart”.   You see, there are things which only the heart can see.  There are ways to see God that have nothing to do with our mind, our intellect or our reason.  They are experienced at the much deeper level of the heart.  And yet the eyes of our heart become darkened and blurry.  We lose our God-focus and instead only see the world immediately around us.  Paul’s prayer is one we all need. We need the cataracts covering our heart-eyes removed  so that we can see clearly the truths of God.  Of course, we can’t do that our selves.  God is the only One who can perform a Lasik surgery on our heart to restore good spiritual heart-sight. 

When we ask Him, He gives a whole new vision of life.  We can once again see “the hope of his calling.”  Hope does not mean wishful thinking but a firm and confident expectation of the good God has promised.  That hope is tied to “his calling.”  He has loved us and called us by name to know Him intimately and personally.  If that doesn’t change how you look at life, I don’t know what will.  Hope acts as an anchor that keeps us from drifting away from Him.  It keeps us tied to rock bottom, foundational truths.  God is real.  God is good (even though it may not feel that way sometimes).  God is powerful and full of grace.  God has not abandoned me and He never will.  Christ was real and he really died and he really came back to life.  Christ is with me, right now, right here.  He has a plan for me, for my life, a good plan.  These are things I can count on because He said so.  That is the hope of his calling – knowing  who I am.

That is what we see when the eyes of our heart are enlightened, when we can see clearly.  All the darkness and deception that the world throws at us vanishes in the light of this hope.  Our perspective of what is important and “what gives life meaning” is completely transformed by being able to focus on His calling for our lives.  And if that isn’t enough, when we wake up every morning and face our day, we will be able to clearly express the hope of our calling to our friends, family and co-workers.  God is at work in their lives and we will be able to see it. 

So this sounds good and we immediately start thinking, what can I do to make this happen.  Remember that this is God’s work to do in us.  Our part is to ask sincerely and be ready to receive it.  This is one prayer that God loves to answer.  LOOK, no presbyopia of the heart!

Leave a Reply

