Rock on

We used to own a rocking chair. I think it belonged my wife’s grandmother once. I don’t remember how we ended up with it. It was a large, high-back rocking chair, really very comfortable. I remember it because I spent many nights rocking our kids in it. It was usually very late at night. I was very tired, and they were very fussy. I know I took a turn with each of our kids in that rocking chair. It eventually became a place of comfort. A place that as I rocked and comforted my child I would think about them and their future and their life and I would pray for them. Sometimes I would hum a little until they fell quiet and went to sleep. Although at that time it was frustrating trying to get our babies to quiet down, now looking back, it was a very special time.
I would watch my wife do the same. Sit in the rocker and rock until our baby fell asleep. I know my wife prayed for them, not just that they would just fall asleep, but also for their lives. That is what my wife does, she prays.
What does a child hear in his mother’s arms? He hears words of love, soft, gentle words, comforting. He hears songs sung softly, lifting the spirit, feeding the soul. He hears words of hope and desire for a future of good and blessings. Words of encouragement. He feels the warmth of supportive arms, lips kissing the forehead. He sees a smile and a twinkle dance across his mother’s face.

Psalm 131 says this: “But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me.”

Sometimes we make God so complicated. Sometimes we simply need to quiet our souls and rest. Listen for those words of love, affirmation and encouragement that the Lord gives. Just like I did rocking my child to sleep, He speaks over me words of blessing and hope and a future of good. Why not simply let Him rock us until we are still and quiet and snuggle in? Look! There it is. I see that twinkle dance across His face.

One response to “Rock on

  1. lovin’ your blog!

Leave a Reply

